devotionals

Random Devotional 2: Being Humbled

Originally Posted: April 6, 2006 (Age 17)

A friend of mine recently posted a bulletin about being humbled because she got accepted into a different college than her top choice. Or something like that. I reflected on how God sometimes likes to humble us simply by screwing up our plans. Like a little nudge every now and then in case we forget that we’re not in control of our own lives.

I said I’d never work at McDonald’s. I’ll stop by to pick up a paycheck tomorrow morning. I said I’d never go to Lindenwood University. I will be registering for classes there tomorrow. Now all I have to do is declare that I’m never going to date some girl and I’ve got myself a wife.

Alright, so God likes to make things happen the way we don’t want them to sometimes. But that’s not always a bad thing. McDonald’s hasn’t been a bad job. And I’m really looking forward to starting college at Lindenwood this fall.

So, next time you get upset that things don’t go your way, try to think of it as God just trying to remind you that he’s the one in control, and that you’ll end up better off for it.

