devotionals

So shall I be saved from my enemies.

Today Meredith told me to read Psalm 18 because it was awesome.

“I will call upon the Lord, Who is worthy to be praised. So shall I be saved from my enemies” (verse 3)

Oh yes… I know that song… I remember this Psalm now… it’s really long and towards the end it has a verse that they used for the rest of that song… nice little Psalm about God saving David from his enemies, yeah, alright, cool.

I’m somewhere around verse 11 when… wait a minute… God’s doing some stuff here… let’s back up a bit…

The psalmist is in big trouble. So he calls upon God in his distress. And guess what? God takes action. And I don’t just mean a little outpouring of hope or something. I mean God takes ACTION.

“Then the earth shook and trembled… because He was wroth. There went up a smoke out of His nostrils, and fire out of His mouth devoured… The Lord also thundered in the heavens, and the Highest gave His voice, hail stones and coals of fire. Yea, He sent arrows, and scattered them, and He shot out lightnings, and discomfited them.”

God is getting angry because someone dared to harm his child. Remember how enraged Mufasa got when the hyenas cornered Simba? Picture that times a thousand. God loves his child so much that you better not dare lay a hand on him, or you’re in BIG trouble. God personally comes to answer the call for help, punish the criminal and save his child (see an amazing human video illustration of this).

“He sent from above, He took me, He drew me out of many waters. He delivered me from my strong enemy and from them which hated me, for they were too strong for me.”

This is such beautiful imagery! How did I never see all this before? Next the psalmist explains that God delivered him, not only because of His great and unfathomable love, but because the psalmist had been righteous. Then God girds him with strength and gives him weapons to take on the enemy himself.

And that’s when he concludes, “The Lord liveth, and blessed be my rock, and let the God of my salvation be exalted!”

Let’s recap.

I will call upon the Lord when I’m in trouble.
Ungodly men trouble me.
I call upon the Lord.
God says, “HOW DARE YOU HARM MY CHILD?” and personally comes to the rescue.

While meditating on these words from David, I listened to the words of yet another David. (David Crowder, that is)

when clouds veil sun
and disaster comes
o my soul…

ever faithful
ever true
you are known
you never let go

you never let go

Simply beautiful.

Whatever you’re going through right now, child, call out to God.
He loves you.
He will come to the rescue.
He will come.

