devotionals

A Grandma’s Devotional

My grandma is one of my heroes. She lost two of her sons before I was even born (one shortly after birth and one as a teenager), and her husband left this earth to be with Jesus eight years ago. Yet throughout my life she has been the most tangible representation of the joy of the Lord that I have ever known. Even as her hearing fades, her heart and mind are strong, and she always has a smile on her face. (She also loves her immediate and extended family very much, and probably prays more every day than I pray in a week.)

On Wednesday, the eighth anniversary of my grandfather’s death, she shared something with me from that powerful hope that rests within her spirit. Psalm 94:19 says, “In the multitude of my thoughts within me, thy comforts delight my soul.” She said she knew that she would have a “multitude of thoughts” within her on that day, but the Lord reminded her of that verse. The Lord is the only one who can comfort us, but he goes beyond that; he promises that in doing so he will delight our soul! She said this encouraged her, and as she looked through old pictures, she was comforted in her loss while delighting in her memories.

What a beautiful picture of God’s love! We cannot be comforted without him, but he promises to do more than simply comfort us. “Thy comforts delight my soul.”

