music

This Tuesday: New Chariot, Devil Wears Prada

I’m not a huge fan of the hardcore/metal/etc scene, but over the years my appreciation for the talent in the genre has grown and I’ve slowly been expanding my toleration of non-melodic elements and adding bands to my collection (Underoath in ’06, As I Lay Dying in ’07, Norma Jean in ’08, and most recently Becoming the Archetype).

The Chariot and The Devil Wears Prada are two bands I’ve been aware of (and even seen live) but have never been impressed enough to become a fan or purchase an album. But they each have devoted fans within their respective subgenres, so I keep an eye on them. This Tuesday, The Chariot is releasing Wars and Rumors of Wars, and The Devil Wears Prada is releasing With Root Above and Branches Below.

The Chariot is streaming their entire album on MySpace, and I intend to give it a fair listen this weekend. Generally they’re just too far down the path of dissonance for me to enjoy the sound – I prefer melody more than static noise that happens to change in pitch. But I’ve been cultivating a taste for less and less melody ever since I started with Underoath’s hybrid sound, so we’ll see.

The Devil Wears Prada only has a couple new songs up, but my brother is a fan and if he gets the album I’ll borrow it. They’re not as dissonant as The Chariot, but their sound structure has always had too much of a cheeky, chaotic feel compared to Underoath’s mature precision, and I prefer that more focused intensity. But I’ll give them a fair listen as well.

If you’re fans of either band, show some support this Tuesday at your local retail store!

