music

Typing Up Loose Ends: Random Musical Lists Concerning The Previous Decade

Best 5/4 Songs Of The Decade
5. “Come On! Feel the Illinoise!” by Sufjan Stevens (2005)
4. “Dirty Second Hands” by Switchfoot (2006)
3. “Backdraft” by Thrice (2007)
2. “Baptize My Mind” by Jon Foreman (2007)
1. “When Your Mind’s Made Up” by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglova (2007)

Saddest Songs Of The Decade
4. “Almost Lover” by A Fine Frenzy (2007)
3. “The Hill” by Markéta Irglova (2007)
2. “The Scientist” by Coldplay (2002)
1. “Hurt” by Johnny Cash (2002)

Best Cover Of The Decade
“Hurt” by Johnny Cash (2002)

Music’s Greatest Loss Of The Decade
Michael Jackson Johnny Cash

Biggest Band Of The Decade
Coldplay
I would love to discuss this with someone who has a better idea. Popularity, album sales, radio sales, clever music videos, diversity of fanbase (what other Top 40 act has fans in the indie scene?)… all over the full course of the decade.

Personal Favorite Overplayed Worship Songs In Spite Of Their Ubiquity
2. “From The Inside Out”
1. “Here I Am To Worship”

Favorite Songs Of The Decade, Quickly
10. “A Thousand Miles” By Vanessa Carlton (2002)
Come on, don’t I get at least one guilty pleasure song?
9. “Falling Slowly” by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglova (2007)
Bonus points due to the connection to the film
8. “Awakened” by Ian McIntosh (2007)
The joy of worship
7. “To Whom It May Concern” by Underoath (2006)
Everything I love about hardcore in seven minutes and three seconds
6. “You Are My Joy” by David Crowder Band (2005)
The joy of worship, part two
5. “Handlebars” by Flobots (2008)
Pride and power lead to destruction. Truth. Word.
4. “Torches Together” by mewithoutYou (2004)
Friendship and fellowship never felt so good!
3. “So Cold I Could See My Breath” by Emery (2005)
Everything that is wrong with our selfish, sexual culture and its destructive impact on youth in three minutes and thirty-one seconds
2. “For The Moments I Feel Faint” by Relient K (2001)
Sometime four chords is all you need for a simple, heartfelt prayer. One of the first songs I learned to play on guitar
1. “Everything” by Lifehouse (2000)
This song still embodies everything about my trust in God’s faithfulness and still serves as as an all-out cry of surrender from everything that is of me. WATCH THIS AGAIN. AND CRY.

1 thought on “Typing Up Loose Ends: Random Musical Lists Concerning The Previous Decade”

  1. These are great lists. Very clever with the top 5/4 songs of the decade. I’ve seen a bunch of these lists around and most of them have terrible songs on them, but I really enjoy yours. Nice work!

    ~ C.H.
    Music news, artist reviews, and upcoming songs at the new Decibel Blog.

Comments are closed.