concert log, music

7.7.11 – From Indian Lakes

Date: 7.7.11
Venue: Chuck’s Basement (Hazelwood, MO)
Lineup: From Indian Lakes, Bears And Company, Sing Me A Fiction, 19 Action News

I first head of <b>From Indian Lakes</b> when my friend Chuck posted a link to listen to their song “Our Father Is Missing” after having booked them in his basement for Weirdo Beardo Productions. I liked their lyrics and sound, which reminded me a bit of My Epic, delving into that emotional post-whatever kind of sound that plays with both intensity and restraint. On this night, they sounded good, and for a new band from California that I had never heard of a month earlier, I was surprised by how many local fans came out, singing along to every song and everything. I bought their album, and hopefully you will be hearing more about them as time goes on.

